Gate of Hevean

I am standing at the gate. The gate that everyone has gone to, is at and will be at one point or another. Stupid to use a sentence in the sense of time since there is none. “Why should I let you through those gates?”, a voice says with great authority. I look around trying to find the answer to that question. My hands start to sweat and I look down towards the ground. The floor is covered with a solid splendid stone that continues on into the city beyond the gate. Thats when I say, “I don’t deserve to. I have no right to pass through that gate. I have no authority to even approach what is in front of me. I have no power to lift my foot in the direction of that city. All of what I am, I am because of You. How amazing that grace is, that has saved a wretch like me. Only through You and your love am I saved. Only through your will, authority and power will I ever be able to spend eternity with you. Whatever happens, let the truth be told. I do not deserve to go through those gates that holds your servants and friends and I admit that.” The voice replied without hesitation, “Be gone from here.”

Conclusion on thoughts

I was thinking what it would be like when arriving at the gates of Heaven because I remember what my dad had told me at one point. He said, “What would you say if God had asked you why He should let you into Heaven?” As a kid, I thought that I would say something along the lines of, “I love you and everything that I did, I did for you.” However I have come to a conclusion that this is only a prediction of what God said in Matthew 7:22, “On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in you name?’ And them I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.’” I wrote the ending this way specifically for two reasons. It seems like that answer that this man has given is right and as to what I have known about the Bible, it is true. I wrote it to make the reader purposely upset for not letting the man get into Heaven. The second reason is that no matter what conclusion this story ends with, it is right in the eyes of God. Do you truly fear God? What would you say to God if He asked you that questions? This is not to day that God will ask you upon meeting Him for if a person has had a true relationship with Him then would it not be offensive to question a son if he should enter into the house? Instead, this question’s focus is to find the true intent of the individual’s drive in life.

2 thoughts on “Gate of Hevean

    1. Hey Joel! This is Evan and I just wanted to thank you for sharing my work. I try my best in sharing the thoughts within my head towards others for I do thoroughly enjoy conversations and discussions on such topics. One of my hopes for not just to entertain my readers but to pursue and challenge a different perspective on the Bible. Again, I thank you for sharing my work once more and wanted to encourage you to stay on the good path. May God bless you and keep you and your wife always in His hands. Oontayo!

      Like

Leave a comment